How Donations Help

We rely on gifts from individuals like you, corporations and other groups to help families in need of decent and affordable homes in Canada and around the world. All donations of any amount are deeply appreciated.

Donations may be designated to local Habitats across Canada for homebuilding projects, international building programs, or our Indigenous Housing Partnership. Undesignated gifts will be directed wherever they will have the greatest impact. Sometimes this means they are used to help us build capacity within Habitat Canada so that we are able to better support local Habitats, raise more money, and in turn, support an even greater number of families across Canada and through our international programs.

2018 annual report

Last year, 238 additional families in Canada begun building strength, stability and self-reliance through affordable Habitat homeownership.

2018 impact infographic

The facts and figures behind the strength, stability and self-reliance we built in 2018.

The overhead myth

We understand that you want your hard-earned dollars to have a direct impact on serving the causes you care about most. If Habitat for Humanity is one of those causes we are incredibly grateful!

We are proud to be an accredited charity through the Imagine Canada Standards Program, and take our commitment to financial accountability and transparency very seriously.

Your donations, along with volunteer builders and donated materials, help keep the cost of building homes low. But there are many costs associated with running a not-for-profit including overhead such as fundraising, infrastructure and staffing. Without these investments, we can’t help more families through our work.

Whether through programming or administration, your donations allow us to continue our work of building safe, decent and affordable homes that empower families to build strength, stability and a better life for themselves and their children.

Local donations have a global impact

When you donate to local Habitat builds, you’re supporting a local initiative with a global impact. For every Habitat home built in their community, local Habitats are asked to make a symbolic donation of $2,500 towards our Global Neighbours Fund for the bricks and mortar cost of building a home for a family in a developing country.

En quoi vos dons nous aident

Habitat compte sur les dons de particuliers comme vous, d'entreprises et d'autres groupes pour aider les familles qui ont besoin d'un logement décent et abordable au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde. Tous les dons, quel qu'en soit le montant, sont vivement appréciés.

Des dons peuvent être versés à divers Habitat locaux au Canada pour des projets de construction domiciliaire, des programmes internationaux de construction ou notre Programme de logement visant les Autochtones. Les dons non attribués seront acheminés là où ils auront le plus de répercussions. Parfois, cela signifie qu'ils sont utilisés pour nous aider à renforcer nos capacités au sein d'Habitat Canada afin que nous soyons en mesure de mieux soutenir les Habitat Canada locaux, de recueillir plus d'argent et, en retour, d'appuyer un nombre encore plus grand de familles au Canada et dans le cadre de nos programmes internationaux.

Incidence infographique 2018

Les données et les chiffres qui sous-tendent la force, la stabilité et l'autonomie que nous avons acquises en 2018.

Mythe des coûts indirects

Nous comprenons que vous voulez que votre argent durement gagné ait des répercussions directes sur les causes qui vous tiennent le plus à cœur. Si Habitat est l'une de ces causes, nous vous en sommes extrêmement reconnaissants!

Nous sommes fiers d'être un organisme de bienfaisance accrédité dans le cadre du Programme de normes d'Imagine Canada et nous prenons très au sérieux notre engagement envers la responsabilité financière et la transparence.

Vos dons, ainsi que ceux des ouvriers bénévoles et des matériaux donnés, aident à maintenir le coût de la construction de maisons à un bas niveau. Mais il y a de nombreux coûts associés à l'exploitation d'un organisme sans but lucratif, y compris les frais généraux comme la collecte de fonds, l'infrastructure et tout le personnel. Sans ces investissements, nous ne pouvons pas aider plus de familles par notre travail.

Que ce soit par le biais de programmes ou de l'administration, vos dons nous permettent de poursuivre notre travail de construction de logements sécuritaires, décents et abordables qui permettent aux familles de se bâtir une vie meilleure et plus stable, pour elles et leurs enfants.

Les dons locaux aux répercussions internationales

Lorsque vous faites un don à votre Habitat local, vous soutenez une initiative locale qui a un impact mondial. Pour chaque maison Habitat construite dans leur communauté, les Habitats locaux sont priés de faire un don symbolique de 2 500 $ à notre Fonds Global Neighbours pour le coût de la construction d'une maison dans un pays en développement.