Our international projects

Inadequate housing is a global problem that requires a global solution, which is why we work to tackle the issue in Canada and internationally. Through our international programs, we raise funds in Canada and direct them towards home building and shelter solutions in developing countries.

One home in Canada, one home in the developing world

While the projects we support internationally often go beyond housing to infrastructure support and training, we strive to build one house in a developing country for every house Habitat builds in Canada.

The funds contributed by local Habitats and donors across Canada have improved the quality of life of hundreds of families in many countries in the developing world, including areas affected by natural disaster.

Recent projects we've supported

Thirty six new homes in Dominican Republic

The housing deficit in the Dominican Republic grows annually by an average of 50,000 to 60,000 homes and, due to the high cost of construction services, low-income families are unable to improve their living conditions. The housing need is particularly great in the provinces of San Juan and Azua, where the majority of people are living in poverty. This project is helping 36 families in the San Juan and Azua provinces with the construction of 36 homes, positively impacting at least 180 people. These houses are innovative, prefabricated homes that are built at a much lower cost than other models, which makes them more accessible for the low-income families this project serves.

Home building and improvements in Nicaragua

Nicaragua has one of the highest housing deficits in Central America. Not only does the country need 20,000 additional houses per year, but over 50 percent of the existing homes require drastic infrastructure improvements. This project focuses on 13 neighbourhoods in the municipality of Estelí, directing support to home improvements and the construction of modular homes known as “seed houses.” The expectation is that as families grow and become more financially stable, they will build additional rooms to these seed houses as needed. In particular, this project is supporting 22 families with an emphasis on women entrepreneurs who work from their homes, helping them develop their economic activity in an improved work environment.

Youth skills training in El Salvador

El Salvador struggles with high rates of poverty, inequality and crime – in particular, high rates of gang-related crime and juvenile delinquency. This project brings together young people in three local communities – San Vicente, San Salvador and La Libertad – to participate as volunteers on six different home builds. In addition to benefitting six families with safe and decent homes, this project is strengthening relationships with local community groups, enhancing national volunteering, and engaging vulnerable youth in productive activities that keep them away from potential risks in their communities.

Building brighter futures in Haiti

When a catastrophic 7.0 earthquake hit Haiti in 2010, Habitat for Humanity responded immediately, building on nearly 30 years of experience working in Haiti. Habitat for Humanity’s recovery program in Haiti has benefited more than 50,000 families through emergency, transitional, and permanent housing solutions. Given the scope of the need in Haiti, long-term change must involve empowering entire communities to rebuild their lives. In the community of Simon-Pele, the Investing in People and Business project is strengthening the long-term economic future and social fabric of the community by providing people with a wide range of training and skills development opportunities. Training programs include construction, business development, disaster risk reduction, vocational skills, and financial literacy.

Improving access to microfinance in sub-Saharan Africa

In sub-Saharan Africa, about 95 percent of people do not have access to the formal financing that would allow them to start building or improving a home. Because of this, most people build progressively, starting with a makeshift shelter and then gradually replacing it with more permanent materials. In partnership with The MasterCard Foundation and six local financial institutions, the Building Assets, Unlocking Access project supports these families in accessing small, short-term loans with affordable payments that can fund their incremental building process. By working with local financial service providers already serving the low-income population, this housing microfinance project allows us to extend our reach and start making a greater impact on families in need of a decent place to live

Better living conditions and quality of life in Malawi

Known as the “warm heart of Africa,” Malawi is among the smallest and least developed countries in the world. The country’s massive housing deficit is especially acute among Malawi’s special needs community, as many people living with disabilities are excluded from mainstream society. In partnership with cbm Canada, Habitat for Humanity is working towards the goal of improving the physical living conditions and quality of life of 60 families with disabilities in the Salima District. The project will significantly improve the living conditions of families with disabilities by providing fully subsidized homes equipped with ventilated washrooms – not only reducing their vulnerability to intrusion and diseases, but also improving their hygiene and social and economic participation.

Transforming living conditions for people living with disabilities in Ethiopia

In partnership with Cbm Canada, Habitat is working to transform the living conditions of people who have disabilities or are at risk of developing disabilities in Fitche, Ethiopia. The Fitche Integrated Vulnerable Group Housing project is increasing vulnerable families’ access to safe, decent housing. In addition, this project aims to create a healthy communities by improving sanitation facilities at the community level, and by encouraging learning and knowledge transfer to become a model for future housing programs in Ethiopia.

Securing land tenure in Cambodia

The Safe and Empowered Communities for Urban Reintegration (SECURE) project is unique in making centrally located urban land available for housing low-income people in Cambodia. Through this project, Habitat supports families and local authorities in securing land through the government’s Social Land Concession program. The work involves converting state-owned land in urban areas in Battambang into privately owned plots with secure tenure granted to families living in informal settlements. Habitat is also working with local partners to provide 50 safe and decent homes for low-income families in Battambang.

Funding for disaster-resilient homes in Nepal

The devastating 2015 earthquake in Nepal left more than 8,700 people dead and resulted in large-scale damage to hundreds of thousands of homes. But even before the earthquake, the country’s housing need was acute and growing. A 2010 study by UN-Habitat showed that at least 40,000 urban housing units are required annually in Nepal. In 2017, Habitat Canada and Habitat Nepal began working together to improve the lives of families in the Kavre and Nuwakot Districts of Nepal. Habitat is providing grants of $2,500 to 30 low-income families in Kavre to enable them to build new disaster-resilient homes, designed in collaboration with the government.

Nos projets internationaux

Le logement inadéquat est un problème mondial qui exige une solution planétaire, et c'est pourquoi nous nous y attaquons, au Canada et à l'étranger. Grâce à nos programmes internationaux, nous recueillons des fonds ici et les orientons vers la construction de maisons et de logements dans les pays en développement.

Une maison au Canada, une maison dans un pays en développement

Bien que les projets que nous appuyons à l'échelle internationale ne se limitent souvent pas au logement, mais visent aussi l'infrastructure et la formation, nous nous efforçons de construire une maison dans un pays en développement pour chaque maison construite par Habitat au Canada.

Les fonds versés par Habitat Canada et des donateurs de partout au Canada ont permis d'améliorer la qualité de vie de centaines de familles dans de nombreux pays en développement, y compris dans les régions touchées par des catastrophes naturelles.

Projets récents auxquels nous avons participé

Construction et amélioration de maisons au Nicaragua

Le Nicaragua accuse l’un des déficits de logement les plus élevés d’Amérique centrale. Non seulement le pays a besoin de 20 000 maisons supplémentaires par an, mais plus de 50 pour cent des logements existants nécessitent des améliorations radicales des infrastructures. Ce projet se concentre sur 13 quartiers de la commune d’Estelí, et vise à soutenir l’amélioration des habitations et la construction de logements modulaires connus sous le nom de « maisons de semences ». Avec la croissance et la stabilité financière des familles, il est prévu qu’elles construiront d’autres pièces pour ces maisons de semences au besoin. Ce projet soutient notamment 22 familles, et plus particulièrement les femmes entrepreneurs qui travaillent à domicile, en les aidant à développer leur activité économique dans un environnement de travail plus favorable.

36 nouveaux logements en République dominicaine

Le déficit de logements en République dominicaine augmente chaque année au rythme moyen de 50 000 à 60 000 logements et, en raison du coût élevé des services de construction, les familles à faible revenu ne peuvent pas améliorer leurs conditions de vie. Les besoins en matière de logement sont particulièrement importants dans les provinces de San Juan et d'Azua, où la majorité de la population vit dans la pauvreté. Ce projet aide 36 familles dans les provinces de San Juan et Azua avec la construction de 36 maisons, ayant un impact positif sur au moins 180 personnes. Il s'agit de maisons préfabriquées innovatrices qui sont construites à un coût beaucoup moins élevé que les autres modèles. Ces maisons sont donc plus accessibles pour les familles à faible revenu qui bénéficient de ce projet.

Formation des jeunes au Salvador

Le Salvador est aux prises avec des taux élevés de pauvreté, d'inégalité et de criminalité. en particulier des taux élevés de criminalité liée aux gangs et de délinquance juvénile. Ce projet rassemble des jeunes de trois communautés locales - San Vicente, San Salvador et La Libertad - pour participer en tant que volontaires à la construction de six maisons différentes. Ce projet, en plus de profiter à six familles qui obtiendront un logement sécuritaire et décent, renforce les relations avec les groupes communautaires locaux, améliore le bénévolat national et incite la jeunesse vulnérable à entreprendre des activités productives qui la tiennent à distance des risques potentiels dans leurs collectivités.

Construire un avenir meilleur en Haïti

Lorsqu'un tremblement de terre catastrophique de magnitude 7,0 a frappé Haïti en 2010, Habitat pour l'humanité a réagi immédiatement, s'appuyant sur près de 30 ans d'expérience de travail en Haïti. Le programme de rétablissement d'Habitat pour l'humanité en Haïti a bénéficié à plus de 50 000 familles grâce à des solutions de logement d'urgence, de transition et permanent. Compte tenu de l'ampleur des besoins en Haïti, le changement à long terme doit impliquer l'autonomisation de communautés entières pour reconstruire leur vie. Dans la collectivité de Simon-Pele, le projet Investir dans les gens et les entreprises renforce l'avenir économique et social à long terme de la collectivité. Il offre aux résidants toute une panoplie d'activités de formation et de perfectionnement professionnel. Les programmes de formation comprennent la construction, le développement des entreprises, la réduction des risques de catastrophe, les compétences professionnelles et l'éducation financière.

Améliorer l'accès à la microfinance en Afrique subsaharienne

En Afrique subsaharienne, environ 95 % des personnes n'ont pas accès au financement officiel qui leur permettrait de commencer à construire ou à rénover une maison. Pour cette raison, la plupart des gens construisent progressivement, en commençant par un abri de fortune, puis en le remplaçant progressivement par des matériaux plus permanents. En partenariat avec la Fondation MasterCard et six institutions financières locales, le projet Building Assets, Unlocking Access aide ces familles à obtenir de petits prêts à court terme assortis de paiements abordables qui peuvent financer leur processus de construction progressive. En travaillant avec les services financiers locaux qui desservent déjà la population à faible revenu, ce projet de microfinancement d'Habitat nous permet d'étendre notre portée et de commencer concrètement à avoir plus de répercussions sur les familles en quête d'un chez-soi décent.

Amélioration des conditions et de la qualité de vie au Malawi

Connu comme le cœur chaud de l'Afrique, le Malawi est l'un des plus petits pays et l'un des moins développés du monde. Le déficit massif de logements du pays est particulièrement grave dans la communauté des personnes aux besoins spéciaux du Malawi. En effet, de nombreuses personnes handicapées sont exclues de la société en général. En partenariat avec cbm Canada, Habitat pour l'humanité travaille à l'amélioration des conditions de vie physique et de la qualité de vie de 60 familles handicapées dans le district de Salima. Le projet améliorera considérablement les conditions de vie de ces familles en leur procurant des logements entièrement subventionnés et équipés de toilettes ventilées. Cela permettra non seulement de réduire leur vulnérabilité aux intrusions et aux maladies, mais aussi d'améliorer leur hygiène et leur participation sociale et économique.

Transformer les conditions de vie des personnes atteintes d'un handicap en Ethiopie

En partenariat avec Cbm Canada, Habitat travaille à transformer les conditions de vie des personnes qui présentent un handicap ou qui sont à risque de développer un handicap à Fitche, en Éthiopie. Le projet Fitche Integrated Vulnerable Group Housing accroît l'accès des familles vulnérables à un logement sécuritaire et décent. Ce projet vise également à créer des communautés saines en améliorant les installations sanitaires au niveau communautaire et en encourageant l'apprentissage et le transfert des connaissances afin de devenir un modèle pour les futurs programmes de logement en Éthiopie.

Garantir la propriété foncière au Cambodge

Le projet SECURE (Safe and Empowered Communities for Urban Reintegration) est unique en ce sens qu'il met des terrains urbains situés au centre du pays à la disposition des personnes à faible revenu au Cambodge. Dans le cadre de ce projet, Habitat aide les familles et les autorités locales à obtenir des terres grâce au programme gouvernemental de Concession foncière sociale. Il consiste à convertir des terres appartenant à l'État dans les zones urbaines de Battambang en parcelles privées dont la propriété est garantie aux familles vivant dans des bidonvilles et à leur assurer un droit de propriété. Habitat travaille également avec des partenaires locaux pour fournir 50 logements sécuritaires et décents à des familles à faible revenu à Battambang.

Financer des maisons résistantes aux catastrophes au Népal

Le tremblement de terre dévastateur de 2015 qui a frappé le Népal a fait plus de 8 700 morts et causé des dégâts considérables à des centaines de milliers de maisons. Cependant, déjà avant le tremblement de terre, les besoins en logements du pays étaient aigus et croissants. Une étude réalisée en 2010 par ONU-Habitat a révélé qu'au moins 40 000 logements urbains sont nécessaires chaque année au Népal. En 2017, Habitat Canada et Habitat Népal ont entrepris de collaborer pour améliorer la vie des familles dans les districts de Kavre et de Nuwakot au Népal. Habitat accorde des subventions de 2 500 $ à 30 familles à faible revenu de Kavre pour leur permettre de construire de nouvelles maisons résistantes aux catastrophes, conçues en collaboration avec le gouvernement.